Malueg earns first win of season

Malueg earns first win of season

20 IRA lightning sprints signed in for only their 2nd appearance this season at home track Wilmot Raceway on July 30th. Again it was Mike Neau setting quick time during qualifying while Derek Fortier and Adam Schroeder claimed heat race wins. The feature saw Fortier bring the field to green but was quickly challenged by the K9 of Andrew Kiedrowski. Kiedrowski was able to get around Fortier and lead lap 1 but that lead was short lived as he looped his machine in turn 2 on lap 2. Fortier assumed the lead on the restart, but the race instantly went red as Kiedrowski found himself upside down in turns 1 and 2. Once resumed, Fortier would maintain the top spot until Neau was able to get under him on lap 6 in turn 2. Neau would continue to lead and work his way through lapped traffic over the next 8 laps until his car started to lose power. Malueg would then assume the top spot and bring Fortier and Mark Heinert in tow as the caution would come out for a spin in turn 2. Neau would then retire to the pits as his car continued to lose power under caution. On the restart, Fortier was able to work past Malueg and get back to the point taking the 2 to go when a red flag would set up a green white checkered finish. However, Fortier’s car would not re-fire after the red – surrendering the lead back to Malueg who would go on to claim his first win of the season despite battling engine gremlins himself. It seemed it was a race that you didn’t want to lead as 3 lap leaders ended with DNF’s. Schroeder and Tim Brannam would round out the podium.

IRA Sprints Wilmot Raceway Wisconsin WingLESS Sprints


Plymouth Dirt Track-Sheboygan Co Fair9/24/2022Lightning Sprints
Full Results
141 Speedway9/4/2022Lightning Sprints
Full Results
Wilmot Raceway9/3/2022Lightning Sprints
Full Results

Upcoming Events

Schedule TBA


Lightning Sprintsas of 9/24/2022
Full Points
Hoosier Racing Tires
Speedway Motors
Hyper Racing
Rod End Supply
Competition Suspension
Bell Helmets
Simpson Race Products
Auto Meter
Fec’s Place
HRP Racing Products
Competition Products
Force 1 Performance Parts
Super Shox
RH Enterprises
Flo Racing