Goldesberry Holds on for Iles Tribute

Goldesberry Holds on for Iles Tribute

Jordan Goldesberry of Springfield, IL scored a late race victory in the 36-lap Annual Roger Iles Tribute presented by Carriage Auto Body of Waukegan, IL Bumper to Bumper Interstate Racing Association (IRA) Winged 410 Outlaw Sprints feature highlighting the Saturday, August 20 Kenosha County Fair program.
Goldesberry's third Wilmot victory of his career came as he overtook race leader Jake Blackhurst of Hanna City, IL on a restart following a caution with six laps to go. Beaver Dam's Scott Neitzel worked his way through the field from 12th starting spot to end up second. Blackhurst, who took the lead from early race pacesetter Blake Nimee of Oswego, IL eight laps into the feature, ended up with the final podium spot in third. Sheboygan's Scotty Thiel, who started 18th in the 26-car feature field, finished strong in fourth. Beaver Dam's Jeremy Schultz was fifth.
"Jake(Blackhurst) was strong and I knew I had one shot on the restart coming out of turn four," Goldesberry said. "It's always special to win this race in front of the fair crowd."
Roger Iles founded Carriage Auto Body which is run by his son, Ken, following his dad's passing several years ago. Ken has continued the fair special for the IRA Winged Sprints.
Kansasville's Ryan Marshall won his second 20-lap AutoMeter/Brewington Electric Wisconsin WingLESS Sprints feature of the season leading flag to flag in the 5th Annual Bill Grogan Memorial. An early race caution four laps into the main kept the field tight. Marshall began working lapped traffic as the laps wound down with back to back late yellows coming with three and two laps to go. Marshall was up to the challenge holding off Oconomowoc's Ryan Zielski was took second. Tim Cox of Park City, IL was third. Allen Hafford of Beach Park, IL, who coordinated the special in memory of a long time supporter of many drivers and Wilmot, ended up fourth. Clayton Rossmann of Wadsworth, IL was fifth.
"I was able to make my car run the bottom, so I stuck with it," said Marshall. "I have to thank my car owners, the Boyds, my family, sponsors, and all of these great fans who come out and watch us which allows us to have fun and do what we like to do."
Marshall is in contention for the Wilmot championship which will be decided on Labor Day weekend, Saturday, September 3. "It's not over until it's over, so we'll just see what happens on Labor Day weekend," said Marshall, who won the overall Wisconsin WingLESS title in 2021, but has not won a Wilmot track championship.
Pleasant Prairie's Mike Neau captured his third 20-lap Pfeiffer Trailer Sales IRA Lightning Sprints feature at Wilmot and second in a row. Franksville's Derek Fortier took the initial lead keeping it until lap three. Tom Brown of Ceresco, Nebraska, who comes to Wilmot traditionally for the fair race, took the lead from Fortier. Brown kept the front and appeared headed for a possible win until the only caution of the event came with 8 laps to go.
Neau went from third to second on the restart passing his teammate Oak Creek's Mark Heinert. Two laps later Neau powered past Brown coming out of turn four going on to the win. Brown held on to second. Heinert was third. Union Grove's Andrew Kiedrowski was fourth. C.J. Malueg of Johnsburg, IL fifth.
"The car just stuck and I went for it. Tom ran great and it's fun to race him," said Neau of his winning move, joined in victory lane by his wife, Sarah, his dad, Larry, and both of his young sons, Carter and Grady. "It's great because it seems when my family is here, something goes wrong. They were all here so this is special and means a lot."
The 2022 season is winding down for Wilmot Raceway. Three nights remain beginning with an all open wheel special on Saturday, August 27 for IRA Founders Night. The Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw 410 Winged Sprints highlight the program at their original home track with the evening remembering the three original founders of the group, Whitey Harris and the late Ray Toft and Junior Dodd. That will feature the crowning of the Wilmot Raceway 410 Winged Sprint Car Champion for the year.
Badger Midgets and MSA 360 Winged Sprints are on the card in their only appearances of the year at the 1/3-mile clay oval located on the Kenosha County Fairgrounds.
Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m. with grandstand admission $25.00 for ages 12 and older, $5.00 for ages 7-11, with ages 6 & under admitted free. The pit gates open at 3:00 p.m. with all pit passes being $30.00. Advance tickets are available via the link on the track website
Season Championship Night is Labor Day weekend on Saturday, September 3 for the five regular Wilmot classes AutoMeter/Brewington Electric Wisconsin WingLESS Sprints, Gerber Collision & Glass Modifieds, Wilmot Mountain Street Stocks, Pfeiffer Trailer Sales IRA Lightning Sprints and the Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Cars. All five track champions for the 2022 campaign will be crowned that night.
The final scheduled race night for the year is Saturday, September 10 featuring the 5th Annual Jim "Wildman" Watson Classic for the Dirt King Late Models plus a point show for the traveling Wisconsin WingLESS Sprints series, modifieds, street stocks and Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Cars. In addition to the on track action, over 150 bikes are anticipated to be given away to youngsters in the grandstands. Bike sponsors or donors can contact Nick Simons at the track on race nights or Tiffany at the Raceway's Facebook page. A rain date of Sunday, September 11 has been announced if needed.
For updated information phone the trackside race line 262-862-2090, check the track website which has updated division point standings, or the official Raceway Facebook Page.

IRA Sprints Wilmot Raceway Wisconsin WingLESS Sprints


Plymouth Dirt Track-Sheboygan Co Fair9/24/2022Lightning Sprints
Full Results
141 Speedway9/4/2022Lightning Sprints
Full Results
Wilmot Raceway9/3/2022Lightning Sprints
Full Results


Lightning Sprintsas of 9/24/2022
Full Points
Hoosier Racing Tires
Speedway Motors
Hyper Racing
Rod End Supply
Competition Suspension
Bell Helmets
Simpson Race Products
Auto Meter
Fec’s Place
HRP Racing Products
Competition Products
Force 1 Performance Parts
Super Shox
RH Enterprises
Flo Racing